5th Seiyuu Awards Winners Announced

5th Seiyuu Awards

The winners of the 5th Annual Seiyuu Awards were announced today, March 5, at 1800 JST time at the Seiyuu Awards Ceremony held in UDX Theater in Akihabara. Much to my delight, Toyosaki Aki was the star of the day having received both the award for the best female lead and the best personality award. A new award was introduced this year: Takahashi Kazue Award for a female seiyuu who spreads the seiyuu work in every type of media. Tomiyama Kei Award, awarded for the same achievement, is now only for male seiyuu.

Best Male Lead Award

Not awarded

Apparently, nobody met the conditions to receive the award. Don’t ask about what conditions they failed to meet or how come XX didn’t win for the role of YY, since I don’t get it either.

Best Female Lead Award

Toyosaki Aki

Aki has won for the role of Hirasawa Yui in K-ON!!. Other seiyuu that I considered as possible candidates, Hanazawa Kana, Taketatsu Ayana, and Yuuki Aoi, didn’t receive any prize.

Best Male Seiyuu in Supporting Roles

Okamoto Nobuhiko

For the role of Accelerator in Toaru Majutsu no Index II, Niizuma Eiji in Bakuman, and Usui Takumi in Kaichou wa Maid Sama.

Nakai Kazuya

For the role of Roronoa Zoro in ONE PIECE.

Best Female Seiyuu in Supporting Roles

Arai Satomi

For the roles of Shirai Kuroko in Toaru Kagaku no Railgun, and narrator in Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakama-tachi.

Itou Kanae

For the roles of Elsea in Kami Nomi zo Shiru Sekai, Nagatsuki Sanae in Shinryaku! Ika Musume and other roles.

Best Male Newcomer

Uchiyama Kouki

For the roles of Yuuki Natsuno in Shiki and Banagher Links in Kidou Senshi Gundam Unicorn.

Best Female Newcomers

Kanemoto Hisako

For the roles of Ika Musume in Shinryaku! Ika Musume, and Kanata in Sora no Woto de geso!

Satou Satomi

For the roles of Wendy Marvell in Fairy Tail, Tamura Manami in Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai, and Tainaka Ritsu in K-ON!!. How is she a newcomer…?

Best Musical Performance

Chihara Minori

For the theme song of Suzumiya Haruhi no Shoushitsu, Yasashii Boukyaku.

Best Personality Award

Toyosaki Aki

This prize is awarded for radio, webradio, TV and similar activities. Toyosaki Aki has won mainly for her own webradio program Okaeri Radio, but her performance in Rajion and Planet Sphere were also included in the evaluation.

Special Achievement Award

Nozawa Nachi

Award for late seiyuus. Nozawa Nachi awarded for his long-time contribution such as dubbing Alain Delon, Al Pacino, C-3P0, and voicing anime characters such as Cobra in Space Adventure Cobra.

Merit Awards

Isao Sasaki, Hiroko Suzuki, Masaaki Yajima

Award for long time contribution.

Synergy Award

Takayama Minami in Meitantei Conan

Tomiyama Kei Award

Koyama Rikiya

Award for a male seiyuu who spreads the seiyuu work in every type of media. Koyama Rikiya is well known for dubbing Jack Bauer.

Overseas Fans Awards

Sawashiro Miyuki

Last year, Sawashiro Miyuki appeared in works such as Durarara!! and Highschool of the Dead. She is a great seiyuu, but I question the authenticity of this award, which is supposed to be decided by votes from overseas fans.

Kids/Family Award

Takeuchi Junko

For her role of Endou Mamoru in Inazuma Eleven, and probably Naruto in Naruto too.

Takahashi Kazue Award

Tanaka Mayumi

Award for a female seiyuu who spreads the seiyuu work in every type of media. Tanaka Mayumi is best known for her role of Luffy in ONE PIECE.